1) The Cancer Solution Guidebook
By Jackie Paulson, "Addicted to Reading," on April 24, 2015


The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge of your Life with Cancer by Jack C. Westman is one book everyone should have. Taking charge of your life with cancer is a reality when a loved one is diagnosed. My father was and died already before I even read this book. I love that the author explains in (lay terms) the stages of cancer. He writes so that every reader can help others with cancer. It's not easy to go home from the doctor and be a "cancer victim", so if you don't go to a doctor for regular checkups how will you prevent it? Most wait until it's too late. There are many ways to treat cancer and holistically as well. You will learn so much in this guide that you will feel relief as you cope with your emotions. The book is for lay persons and health professionals and is understandable for the average reader.

 2) Cancer...the dreaded disease and what's being done to cure and treat it, and will it be defeated?
By J. Guild, TOP 1000 REVIEWER, on April 23, 2015

If you haven't been a victim of cancer, you surely will if you live long enough. Even if you are among the precious few who don't get cancer in any of its nearly 200 forms, someone in your family, or otherwise very close to you, will. The whole subject of cancer is so huge, involved, complicated, and in many cases scary, devastating, and even fatal that it is mind-boggling for one to get any consistent answers to their questions, particularly if they are told they "have It". There is such a plethora of information available to understand cancer and all that dreaded word entails that any help in sorting through it all is an impossible task.

Fortunately, this is an excellent book that should be read, or at least perused by everyone, regardless of where they now stand in connection of this disease. It gives just enough information that any ordinary person can understand where we are in the diagnosing, treatment, research, the medical profession, the drug industry, surgical options, expectations of cures, end of life preparations, value of hope and faith, dealing with stress, chances of long time survival, personal approaches to prevention, extending life and living with cancer, life or death panels, environmental impacts, or just about any question or concern you might have. Don't let the complexity deter you from reading this book. It is written very clearly and is understandable without any medical knowledge being required. It is also organized so that parts of it can be "skimmed" if desired. At the back of the book are extensive references that refer to each chapter and would give the reader much more information on any subject mentioned.

This is a book that once read, one will surely want to keep as a reference for any questions they might have in the future. Also, at the end of each chapter there is a short Conclusion that summarizes the chapter. It includes many experiences that individuals have encountered in treatments. Sprinkled throughout are many simple statements that hit home, such as;
       1 out of 3 will die with cancer.
       In the U.S. about 1/2 of the men and 1/3 of the women will contact cancer in their lifetime.
       The percentage of Americans dying from cancer is about the same as in 1970;and in 1950.
       Cancer is the leading cause of death in the world, and we are not Winning the War on Cancer.

In conclusion: "It is up to Congress to intelligently and effectively provide adequate funding that is not dictated by the financial incentives of industry lobbyists and the unrealistic regulation and conduct of clinical trials but by the goal of preventing and treating NEOPLASIA." If you haven't heard of and understand NEOPLASIA, this book will explain what causes cancer.

 3) Concise overview and includes great nutritional advice
By Susan Schenck, "award-winning author of four books" including The Live Food Factor and Beyond Broccoli. TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE, on April 22, 2015

This book is a real labor of love to help people, inspired by the author's having lost his wife to cancer. Says Dr. Westman: "I have the nagging feeling that, if I had known in 2011 about the complementary therapies for conventional cancer treatment described in Chapter 11, Nancy would be living today."

The book opens with conventional cancer treatment, and why the alleged "war on cancer" failed, and all the toxicity from conventional treatment and even the diagnostic procedures (such as mammograms and MRIs, which can actually CAUSE cancer!) It's all just a big money machine, (and finding the "cure" was never intended in my observation). In this book you will also learn the types of cancer, the stages of cancer, the history of cancer, and the culture of cancer. You will also learn about the various theories of what causes cancer.

I found most interesting the suppressed information of Otto Warburg, who proved that cancer depends on an acidic environment, as well as glucose. Truly a diet rich in greens (alkaline) and very low in carbs (ketogenic) is the route I would surely take if I got the disease that has killed most my family.  Warburg concluded: "... the primary cause of cancer is the replacement of the respiration of oxygen in normal body cells by a fermentation of sugar."

The author states: "It turns out that dramatically reducing the blood glucose that cancer cells so heavily rely upon both starved them and forces the body to generate new fuels from fat called ketones---a fuel source that cancer cells are unable to use ..." So, cut the carbs and starve the cancer cells! How simple is that? Cancer is NOT the body's deficiency of chemo chemicals!

This book is a great overview for those facing which direction to go with cancer treatment. I also like how each chapter is summarized at the end, so you don't have to read everything. Since it is obvious that the drug companies lost their "war on cancer" (though gained enormously in profits), I would go with the nutritional route.

 4) Comprehensive and Understandable Guide
By Mallory Anne-Marie Forbes Haws, "Fair and authentic reviews," on April 20, 2015

A comprehensive and eminently readable handbook and guide to an essential subject, THE CANCER SOLUTION by Jack C. Westman, M.D., M.S., a psychiatrist, is designed for both laypersons dealing with cancer personally or in loved ones. Emphasized are various newer possibilities for treatment, including nutrition, immunotherapy, and complementary care. The issues and concerns of caregivers are also addressed. I think this is a highly useful guide.

 5) An essential resource for cancer patients and those who stand at their sides

By Long-Suffering Technology Consumer "8-tracks to 802.11" TOP 100 REVIEWER on April 19, 2015

I read Dr. Jack C. Westman's book The Cancer Solution descibed as "A Cancer Handbook for Inquisitive Laypersons and Health Care Professionals" as part of the "inquisitive laypersons" audience. When a family member marched into the maw of cancer treatment two years ago, I thought I was an educated consumer able to ask smart questions of the medical teams that appeared in sequence as we went through the gauntlet of diagnosis, planning treatment, treatment and--eventually--hospice. Anybody who has taken this journey knows that it provided abundant opportunities for second guessing and for many dark nights of the soul.

Having been through that, and having read this book, my first response: whether you or somebody close to you has cancer or not now: read this book. Because should that time come, you will have better insight into cancer, the array of treatment decisions, the holistic factors and the policy and pharma decisions that are going on in the background.

The opening chapters of the book address the personal path the widowed Westman traveled with the extended course of his own wife's cancer before moving to primers on cancer types/staging, health system (U.S.-centric) considerations, treatment types.

For those both with and without cancer, he offers a chapter on non-medical factors that can aid patients (primarily focused on dietary and spiritual considerations).

Whether you are a patient, a patient's caregiver or trying to satisfy your inquisitive layperson thirst, Westman provides discussions that are detailed and thoughtful. He doesn't over simplify the medical and physiological exploration; these probably will require the concentration of lay readers, but this is probably necessary to reach his other audience of health care providers.

If you are interested in sound discussions of current knowledge and revealing background about the state of cancer care and the future of treatment (whether you are patient, companion or in the professions), this book is an excellent resource.

 6) A Valuable Guidebook for Cancer Victims and Their Families
By Richard R. Blake, TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE, on April 13, 2015

Jack C. Westman M.D, M.S., Professor Emeritus at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health opens his book “The Cancer Solution” with his wife’s 34 year journey of living with cancer.

The book goes on to describe current prevalent cancer treatment, surgery, radiation, and chemotherapy, its methods and results. He helps the reader understand how to take an active part in managing their own health and medical problems. I found the review of the history and development of cancer care practical and helpful. Dr. Westman’s explanation of the multiplication of cancer cells and neoplasia are especially informative. Full chapters are devoted to cancer research, clinical trials and treatments, new approaches, immunotherapy, and nutritional therapy. Chapter eleven deals with complementing your treatment and is significant in that it relates to a holistic approach to cancer and personal responsibility.

Dr. Westman’s conclusions are logically presented, authoritative, and convincing. His extensive research is well documented and provides the reader with excellent suggestions for further reading. This a practical guidebook for anyone diagnosed with cancer, and their family, as well as for hospice caregivers, and professionals in health care.

 7) A Valuable Resource for the Cancer Patient or Caregiver
By John Chancellor, "Mentor coach"TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE, on March 28, 2015

I can remember some 40 or 50 years ago that cancer was such a scary word. Then if a person was diagnosed with cancer, it was almost a like a death sentence. There has been remarkable progress in the diagnosis and treatment of some cancers. But overall we have made little progress in our “war on cancer”. We can and do extend the life expectancy of some cancer patients, but at a huge cost–both in terms of dollars and quality of life. With our extended longevity comes an ever increasing number of cancer cases.

This book will be of great interest to any patient who has been diagnosed with cancer or anyone who is an advocate or caregiver for such a patient. You really need to be proactive in your own care. This book will give you the information and tools you need to make better informed decisions about choosing a treatment path.

Dr. Westman has taken a very through look at cancer – from the way we define it, to the way we currently treat it to some optional ways we should be treating cancer. Dr. Westman is a psychiatrist, not an oncologist. However he writes from firsthand experience. His wife was diagnosed with breast cancer in 1978 and eventually died from it in 2012. Dr. Westman was a caregiver and did extensive research on the care and treatment of cancer as well as the overall treatment protocols of the various types of cancer.

He first explores how we define cancer. There are some benign tumors that should not be labeled cancer. Lumping them under the umbrella of cancer is a disservice to the patients. Dr. Westman also explains the major groups of cancers.  Next he discusses the three major treatment approaches–surgery, chemotherapy and radiation. In far too many cases, the potential cure has more undesirable side effects than the cancer itself. With most cancers occurring in aging patients, we seem to be wasting a large amount of money on treatment, creating immense pain for the patient and gaining precious little time for them.

Dr. Westman draws extensively on the research of others. His findings are pretty sobering. We are spending (wasting) a lot of money on cancer research and getting precious little in return. This is in large part because of our approach to and funding of the research.  While Dr. Westman writes as a well-informed researcher, the message is straightforward and easy for the layperson to understand, he discusses other approaches the patient can take which will improve their chances of actually winning the war.

This book is an excellent source of information. It is well researched and calls to tasks the entrenched way we are currently treating cancer. Dr. Westman gives some excellent guidance and tools for anyone dealing with a diagnosis of cancer. If you are not currently dealing with a cancer patient, consider yourself fortunate. But you should avail yourself of the information in this book and keep it handy – odds are you will need it.

 8) Facing the Realities of Cancer Head on
By C. Stephans, VINE VOICE, on March 27, 2015

In The Cancer Solution, qualified author Jack Westman, M.D., M.S., offers a comprehensive, thorough picture of the cancer situation today. Through his writing, readers grasp a better idea of what solutions are likely to prevail in humanity's war on this deadly disease. Westman asserts his four aims in writing the book: 1. to give a broad overview of cancer treatment and research, 2. to provide technical and referential details about cancer specifics, 3. to stimulate interest in complementary cancer care, and 4. to encourage readers to become fully informed advocates for funding to target preventing and treating underlying causes of cancer. He intends the book to be both instructive for readers and to be an ongoing reference.

Westman writes as a medical professional and as a widower who lost his wife to a long-time battle with breast cancer. He has more recently had two other close relatives diagnosed with cancer; these recent diagnoses inspired him to author a book making available his plethora of research and learning. Westman has authored his book after earnest research into all areas of cancer. He presents it in an accessible and helpful manner that can be beneficial to readers from any background and interests.

This book is especially relevant and helpful to those dealing with cancer as a victim, caregiver, helping professional, medical professional, researcher or policy maker. The information is enlightening, instructive, honest and realistic. The author's research is vast and deep in all of these areas. As the author himself suggests, some areas of the book apply to some readers and not to others or are for reference and can be skimmed initially and referred to later.

For the average reader, I think the writing on cancer prevention and complementary solutions will be most interesting. The natural solutions of diet, exercise and lifestyle provide clear clarion calls for any person to respond to immediately and contribute to reducing the cancer risk. Additionally, Westman highlights the actual treatment methods and outcomes for cancer in patients. He looks at underlying causes and behavior of the body and the cancer cells. There is much we can do in the area of prevention and treatment that is simply overlooked or ignored for various reasons that Westman also cites.

Westman's tone is compassionate and helpful throughout the book toward all readers. His motive is clearly concern and urgency that people do all we can to overcome cancer and that we do it intelligently and altruistically. Because we have all had interactions with cancer in some way, this is a book that I think from which all can benefit.

 9) Hopefully this book will begin a discussion to increase the effectiveness of cancer research.
By Jay Kurpon on March 22, 2015

Having read many books on cancer I am tired of reading books that offer diets and “cures” for cancer that have virtually no footnotes. Dr. Westman’s book has a significant amount of information about cancer, and provides footnotes and support for his statements and conclusions. I enjoy reading books by scientists and researchers since the reported findings are supported by studies and not the unsupported musings I have seen in so many cancer books.

The book is ambitious in addressing a wide range of topics, including: The development of cancer in the body; the state of cancer research; solutions to make cancer research more effective; complementary therapies to help fight cancer; and end of life issues that cancer patients and their families may face.

The chapters on cancer research make it apparent that there are institutional incentives to do research based on making small modifications to build on existing research rather than taking more bold steps in new areas of research. It does discuss some new research models that hold out the hope of being more effective. The area of complementary therapies was helpful, since as a cancer patient I wanted to know what I can do to improve my odds of surviving. His information was helpful since he provides information on the research that supports his recommendations.

Hopefully this book will begin a discussion to increase the effectiveness of cancer research. Billions of dollars are spent annually on cancer research and treatments, and it is in the taxpayer’s best interest to insure these dollars are spent in an efficient manner to provide the best possible results. I also found this book beneficial since it provided me with a better understanding of the mindset of my doctors in discussing my treatment options with them.

 10) A Breath Of Fresh Air In The Medical Profession!
By Dr. Joseph S. Maresca, CISA HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWER, on March 22, 2015

Jack C. Westman,  M.D., M.S., has written an excellent book which should be read by every prospective medical student. The reason to have this book widely read is to increase physician awareness of health and wellness alternatives to prescription drugs. The author criticizes some of the excesses of conventional surgery in favor of prevention. Classic preventive strategies are referenced like diagnostic imaging, vitamin D supplementation, stress reduction/relief and model life styles like the Hunzas and Okinawans.

The medical profession has better tools today than ever before. Examples of these tools are robotic surgery, the Cyberknife, the pill camera, targeted radiation, 3D manufacture and artificial intelligence based algorithms to formulate more optimal rule structures.

Increasingly, diet is becoming a new frontier with high powered nutrient formulations, superfoods (like chia and bok choy) and the use of organic food. Quite a bit is known about the adverse impact of non-nutritive foods like white sugar, fried foods, high content alcohol and non-organic based food additives. High acidity is another condition precedent for cancer. The answer is to facilitate modalities which encourage alkalinity in the diet. Alkalinity creates an environment which is not conducive to cancer growth. Scientists know that the body quickly reaches an acidic state as it decays after death; whereupon, the pH tends toward 0 rather than the amphoteric state or a base.

Activities like meditation and prayer are being employed increasingly due to the beneficial effects of relieving stress. Stress relief and positive thinking facilitate healing by removing unnecessary burdens so that the body immune system can function more optimally. Exercise releases stress and fortifies body parts like the abdomen. Strong abdominal muscles serve like a fortress to hold up the spine and slow down conditions like kyphosis from settling in and advancing.

Scientists are now more aware of the beneficial effects of vitamin D3 on the immune system. As such, vitamin D3 can help patients to avoid things like pneumonia and maybe the ebola virus which thrives in environments where there is little sunlight as in the rainy seasons on the African continent.

Excellent references are cited; such as, The Society of Clinical Oncology, The British Medical Journal and Cancer Research. There are more authoritative sources like The Lancet. Modern medicine needs better outreach into the community with programs like The Hill Burton Act of '46 which provides facility mortgage forgiveness in exchange for free or low-cost medicine throughout the 160+ facilities in the United States.

In conclusion, Dr Westman's book is a welcome addition to the stock of medical literature. Readers will be treated to a whole new world of medical alternatives to supplement the existing medical paradigm.

 11) A good overview of cancer and its treatment, calling for a more integrative approach with research and patient care
By Jed Shlackman, VINE VOICE, on March 17, 2015

This book by Dr. Jack Westman is a well-researched call to action toward a more holistic and integrative approach to cancer treatment and prevention. Westman makes the vital point that attacking cancer cells, while sometimes helpful in the short term, is ultimately a dead end in pursuing healing for cancer patients. He presents extensive medical evidence showing that there are underlying processes creating the cancer cells which need to be understood and addressed. Addressing those factors that lead to unchecked cancer cell growths involves looking at lifestyle, diet, nutrition, environmental hazards, and psychological stress. Westman focuses a lot on neoplasia, explaining how cancer cells develop, how they nourish themselves, and why they may escape the body's immune response. He examines the conventional cancer care system and protocols, as well as the reasons why research has been focused on expensive ways to kill cancer cells rather than complementary and alternative treatments that may offer greater promise for addressing the processes that fuel cancer growth.

This book provides a good overview of conventional and alternative approaches to treating cancer, as well as a thoughtful examination of the biases and economic factors which have led cancer research on a dysfunctional and imbalanced path. Dr. Westman has certainly done valuable research in this topic since dealing with his wife's cancer and the learning curve that occurred when she was going through treatment. He is not presenting a full reference here for all the various complementary and alternative cancer treatments. There are actually a variety of important treatments that aren't mentioned much or at all here, especially in the form of vibrational medicine and mind-body medicine, topics that are given much less attention than nutrients and drugs.

This book is a very good starting place for looking into a holistic or integrative approach to treating cancer patients, while there are other books and online resources now available that offer much more information on different treatment options. One of the key points made in this book is that both doctors and patients need to be better educated about cancer and its treatment and not blindly follow a paradigm that has failed. For anyone with cancer or anyone who is seeking to support or help a person with cancer, this book is one I would certainly recommend as a valuable resource. Note: I was provided a copy of this book at no cost for my honest review.

 12) "I know the relief that comes with success and the grief that comes with failure."
By Grady Harp, HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE, on March 15, 2015

Wisconsin physician author Jack Westman, M.D., is Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health. He is president of Wisconsin Cares, Inc, a non-profit advocacy organization for families and has been president of three professional organizations. He has published over 150 articles and 12 books on individual differences in children, learning disabilities, child abuse and neglect, child advocacy, family therapy, children's and parents' rights, and public policy. Now he offers both a physician's and insider's view from personal experience on the theme of cancer.

In his preface Dr. Westman states clearly his purpose in publishing this book meant for both the lay person and the professional medical worker, "I wrote this book for you with four aims. The first is to give you a broad overview of the different forms of cancer treatment and cancer research in as understandable terms as I can. The second is to provide enough technical details so that you can use this book as a reference for questions about specific aspects of cancer. The third is to stimulate your interest in complementary cancer care. The fourth is to encourage you as a layperson or a professional to become an informed advocate for federal and private funding of research that focuses on preventing and treating the underlying causes of cancer."

One touching opening to the book is Dr. Westman's sharing of his wife's struggle with breast cancer - surviving one radical mastectomy for adenocarcinoma of the breast, all the complementary modes of treating her carcinoma for 26 years and then having a second adenocarcinoma in the other breast with a second radical mastectomy and finally succumbing to her disease. With this degree of professional and caregiver concern, he takes us through what cancer is, what treatments are available, some excellent information on care giving, dietary regimens, supplements, and other complementary adjuncts to fighting cancer. His references are many, his honesty is praiseworthy, and the information he shares is information we all should learn and own - as cancer will likely touch all of our lives in some way.

Books such as this helps coping with the disease, understanding the mechanisms of the disease, the increasingly important support of our bodies' immune systems through diet changes and supplements, and finally what we can do in the fight to find a cure for cancer. Very highly recommended.


13) Kirkus Reviews


In order to grasp the enormity of a shape-shifting disease, The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge of Your Life with Cancer prods cancer from all angles.

Academic physician Westman (Psychiatry/Univ. of Wisconsin; Licensing Parents, 1997, etc.) approaches the subject of cancer from the perspectives of both a doctor and a caregiver. His wife was diagnosed with breast cancer and fought the disease for 34 years, from her initial treatment, through remission, and a second recurrence.

With his strong foundation in medicine, Westman looks at the disease’s many facets: as a mysterious biological entity, as a sprawling research field, as a wily opponent of treatment, and as a distressing diagnosis for loved ones. In particular, he points out that “cancer” is, in some ways, a catchall term for an underlying process called neoplasia. He highlights what he calls an outsize emphasis on search-and-destroy tactics, which are evident in the common treatment triumvirate: surgery, radiation, and chemotherapy. His curiosity about the field as an area of research led him to consider more innovative, yet vastly underfunded, treatments, including immunotherapy and nutritional therapy.

Westman devotes an entire chapter to each of these, summarizing researchers’ discoveries and examining what future questions they might explore. He critiques current types of research, such as the study of tumors rather than metastasis and the use of mice as cancer models even though their systems function differently from humans’. The author agrees with other biomedical critics on the instability and poor dispersion of research funding; he believes that drug companies would be better served by devoting more time and resources to breakthrough innovations rather than making incremental improvements to current methods. Researchers need to get a deeper understanding of metabolic function of malignant cells, he says, instead of focusing on DNA markers for certain cancer types. 

The author’s thorough explanations don’t presume that readers have extensive medical backgrounds, so many of the research discussions and descriptions of biological processes will be suitable for laypersons. His clear voice and thoughtful approach illuminate the current state of oncology. Although he doesn’t provide solutions for curing cancer, he manages to dissolve some of the ambiguity and fear surrounding this intimidating disease.


A rigorous investigation of the cancer research-and-treatment landscape.


14) Midwest Book Review


In order to grasp the enormity of a shape-shifting disease, The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge of our Life with Cancer prods cancer from all angles.

Academic physician Westman (Psychiatry/Univ. of Wisconsin; Licensing Parents, 2007, etc.) approaches the subject of cancer from the perspectives of both a doctor and a caregiver. His wife was diagnosed with breast cancer and fought the disease for 34 years, from her initial treatment, through remission, and a second recurrence.

With his strong foundation in medicine, Westman looks at the disease’s many facets: as a mysterious biological entity, as a sprawling research field, as a wily opponent of treatment, and as a distressing diagnosis for loved ones. In particular, he points out that “cancer” is, in some ways, a catchall term for an underlying process called neoplasia. He highlights what he calls an outsize emphasis on search-and-destroy tactics, which are evident in the common treatment triumvirate: surgery, radiation, and chemotherapy. His curiosity about the field as an area of research led him to consider more innovative, yet vastly underfunded, treatments, including immunotherapy and nutritional therapy.

Westman devotes an entire chapter to each of these, summarizing researchers’ discoveries and examining what future questions they might explore. He critiques current types of research, such as the study of tumors rather than metastasis and the use of mice as cancer models even though their systems function differently from humans’. The author agrees with other biomedical critics on the instability and poor dispersion of research funding; he believes that drug companies would be better served by devoting more time and resources to breakthrough innovations rather than making incremental improvements to current methods. Researchers need to get a deeper understanding of metabolic function of malignant cells, he says, instead of focusing on DNA markers for certain cancer types. 

The author’s thorough explanations don’t presume that readers have extensive medical backgrounds, so many of the research discussions and descriptions of biological processes will be suitable for laypersons. His clear voice and thoughtful approach illuminate the current state of oncology. Although he doesn’t provide solutions for curing cancer, he manages to dissolve some of the ambiguity and fear surrounding this intimidating disease.A rigorous investigation of the cancer research-and-treatment landscape.In order to grasp the enormity of a shape-shifting disease, this examination prods cancer from all angles.


15) California Book Review


The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge of Your Life With Cancer - A Cancer Handbook for Inquisitive Laypersons and Health Care Professionals offers a practical guide for anyone diagnosed with cancer and for families caring for them; but it isn't your usual 'how to live with a cancer diagnosis' book. Instead, it focuses on a new viewpoint of what cancer is and how to treat it based not on old diagnosis models of tumor size and location in the body, but on models that take into account an individual patient's natural defenses and how to fight cancer through a process called neoplasia.

While Dr. Westman readily acknowledges that there's good reason to question claims of successful cancer treatments that fall outside the usual models and border on quack cures, he also uses clinical studies and data on survival rates and such factors as nutritional influences and case histories to offer a surprising amount of alternative treatments.

His documentation of common obstacles to progress and the political, financial and social barriers to investigating these alternatives more closely make for particularly important chapters relating to cancer care and how patients are informed (or not) about their prognosis and treatment options.

No miracle programs here: just hard facts about what works, what's possible, and why these possibilities aren't being included in traditional approaches to cancer management.


16) Highly encouraging and must read book for all

By Blueink Review, April, 2015

 Personal experience with his wife’s cancer ordeal led Dr. Jack C. Westman to research and pen The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge of Your Life with Cancer. This terrifically clear-eyed and user-friendly guide explaining what stimulates cancer cells and how patients can take charge of their own destiny to prevent or control cancer’s growth and spread.

While not an oncologist, Dr. Westman is a professor emeritus in psychiatry at a Wisconsin university and has written 12 professional and lay books. After his wife Nancy’s 34-year battle with the disease, he set out to research the most current information regarding what really works in cancer prevention and treatment. The resulting book The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge of Your Life with Cancer is highly educational, yet written in a style that engages the reader rather than obfuscates as other books sometimes do.

The book offers a broad overview of various forms of cancer and is direct in discussing the pros and cons of conventional surgeries, chemotherapy and radiation in cancer treatment. It encourages patients and caregivers to take charge of medical record details and to incorporate into their lives exercise, specific dietary changes and nutritional therapies shown to prevent cancer and reverse its growth. For example, the author favors a carbohydrate-restricted diet that is filled with cruciferous vegetables. He also recommends the antioxidant supplement ubiquinol and CELLFOOD health supplements, both of which can improve cells’ metabolic functions.

Westman makes clear his disappointment with the so-called war on cancer, which he believes spends far too much money and time on killing constantly changing cancer cells while giving short shrift to preventing and stopping the formation of their formation through the process of neoplasia. His encouraging, skillfully written and surprisingly riveting guide instead shines a bright light on what can be done right this minute to start stemming the ravages of cancer. It is not just hopeful, but highly encouraging and a must-read book for all, even those still unaffected by a cancer diagnosis.

Blueink Review, April, 2015

 Personal experience with his wife’s cancer ordeal led Dr. Jack C. Westman to research and pen The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge of Your Life with Cancer. This terrifically clear-eyed and user-friendly guide explaining what stimulates cancer cells and how patients can take charge of their own destiny to prevent or control cancer’s growth and spread.

While not an oncologist, Dr. Westman is a professor emeritus in psychiatry at a Wisconsin university and has written 12 professional and lay books. After his wife Nancy’s 34-year battle with the disease, he set out to research the most current information regarding what really works in cancer prevention and treatment. The resulting book The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge of Your Life with Cancer is highly educational, yet written in a style that engages the reader rather than obfuscates as other books sometimes do.

The book offers a broad overview of various forms of cancer and is direct in discussing the pros and cons of conventional surgeries, chemotherapy and radiation in cancer treatment. It encourages patients and caregivers to take charge of medical record details and to incorporate into their lives exercise, specific dietary changes and nutritional therapies shown to prevent cancer and reverse its growth. For example, the author favors a carbohydrate-restricted diet that is filled with cruciferous vegetables. He also recommends the antioxidant supplement ubiquinol and CELLFOOD health supplements, both of which can improve cells’ metabolic functions.

Westman makes clear his disappointment with the so-called war on cancer, which he believes spends far too much money and time on killing constantly changing cancer cells while giving short shrift to preventing and stopping the formation of their formation through the process of neoplasia. His encouraging, skillfully written and surprisingly riveting guide instead shines a bright light on what can be done right this minute to start stemming the ravages of cancer. It is not just hopeful, but highly encouraging and a must-read book for all, even those still unaffected by a cancer diagnosis.


17) A Wake-up call and a call to action for cancer patients, their loved ones and the general public

By BKWalker Books, May 29, 2015

The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge of your Life with Cancer by Jack C. Westman, M.D., shows how much of the failure of the War on Cancer─and more importantly, much of the potential for finally winning it─has to do with the definition of cancer.

This book is a wake-up call and a call to action for cancer patients, their loved ones and the general public. Conventional cancer care needs to be vastly improved according to the American Society of Clinical Oncology and the National Cancer Institute. Patients know it firsthand. They are obliged to accept chances for 5-year survival with likely debilitation rather than complete remissions (cures). Everyone is paying the price of excessive cancer care costs in their health care insurance.

The sun rises and the sun sets. It seems like the sun rotates around the Earth. Cancer cells rise and are killed by surgery, radiation and chemotherapy. It seems like cancer is a disease. But the sun does not rotate around the Earth, and cancer is not a disease. The many kinds of cancer cells are the products of the disease neoplasia that can emerge from normal cells in our bodies’ organs and tissues.

OLD MODEL: Treatment is determined by a tumor’s location in the body without regard for the molecular characteristics of the patient or the tumor and for the environment of the tumor.

NEW MODEL: Research will focus on how cancer cells evade the natural defenses in the body’s immune system that prevent and stop the formation of cancer cells through the process of neoplasia. This kind of research is finally beginning to lead to the successful treatment of some forms of cancer and should be given the highest priority.

A usable handbook for cancer for both patients and health professionals, The Cancer Solution empowers patients to take control of their life with cancer and advocate for improving cancer research and treatment.

When my Mom was first diagnosed with Cancer, my family was lucky, because with me being a nurse, they had my knowledge to guide them through this torturous time and explain things to them on a deeper level. Most families don’t have someone in the healthcare field in their family to help them understand terminology, procedures, and treatments on a level so that they understand what is happening.

The Cancer Solution is a fantastic book that makes it easy for any person, whether a lay person or a professional to understand, and in my case, even sometimes remember, what is to happen, what needs to be done, what to expect, and how to support a Cancer patient period.

Dr. Westman lays it out very clearly, and in simple terms that you can’t NOT understand. I love how he broke this book down, and one of my favorite parts was when he talked about “Advanced Directives” and “Life Panels”. This is something we didn’t do in the beginning, and even as a nurse, when it comes to your own family, you sort of lose all of your professionalism when it comes to making decisions. It is hard to think about your loved one dying, and what might happen near the end, but Dr. Westman explains it in such a way that it leaves you wanting to be sure a plan is in place.

I wished I had this book when my Mom was first diagnosed, because I loved the chapter on “Drawing from your body’s natural resources”, which I would have loved to try with my mother and suggest to her Oncologist and Neurosurgeon.

Dr. Westman also breaks down what you can do as a caregiver, family member, and how a patient can get to know their own body. I think this is something every person should know, and not be afraid to take control of your own body and what is done to it. “Nobody knows your body better than you.”

All in all, I would highly recommend this book to anyone that either has Cancer, or a family member or friend with Cancer, because it will help you all understand, accept, and create a plan of action that will be beneficial to all of you, not just the person with the diagnosis.


18) This book is full of thought provoking arguments and practical recommendations.
By Martha’s Bookshelf, June 10, 2015

I am glad that I received The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge of Your Life with Cancer by Jack C. Westman M.D. M.S.  for review. I took a bit of time reading it so that I could absorb the depth of information.

The author lays out his data and rational arguments in distinct sections with clear support and references. The information is presented in direct fashion that makes it understandable, even by a lay person. I appreciated all of the information but particularly the explanation of the nature of cancer as neoplasia, a disease of cells that take a turn from normal deterioration to a mutated deterioration that results in cancer. This would explain why there are so many different types of cancer. As the author explains, unfortunately the focus of research has most often been on treatment of the symptoms without determining a way to stop the cause.

There is an interesting discussion on the definition of cancer that implies that there is a large incidence of over-diagnosis resulting in over-treatment. But what is a patient to do? Does the patient take the advice of the doctor (the expert) or risk refusing the “standard” diagnosis and the “standard” treatment recommendations? This is a major dilemma facing many patients, including me when my cancer was diagnosed. As much as I appreciated the information gathered and provided by Dr. Westman, this book doesn’t resolve that patient dilemma.

I liked the chapters presenting nutrition therapies and known factors (ultraviolet light, smoking and others) that stimulate neoplasia. I would certainly seek to choose foods that strengthen my immune system while minimizing those negative factors in my life. The chapter on Taking Charge of Being a Care Recipient or Caregiver offers positive and practical suggestions for coping with either situation. It is important to realize that caregivers have a special role and they often need support too.

As Dr. Westman notes, a known problem with Chemotherapy is that it not only attacks malignant cells but it attacks good immune cells that every person needs to fight off other deceases. I was aware of this negative factor which was a reason I hesitated on agreeing to the Chemo. Although I appreciated the important information shared in this book, if I had read it before my experience I think my decision would have been even more difficult.

I would recommend this book as a source of data to understand the nature of the decease of cancer, alternative approaches to diagnosis, treatments, research and the current state of affairs relating to these issues. There are good practical details that would help any person facing a situation involving cancer. The information is helpful even if it might not help make a final decision regarding personal treatment. That involves a lot of uniquely individual factors, professional provider advice and personal character and faith.


19) This book has encouraged me to take my already healthy life style to a new level.
By Connie Stapleton, PhD, June 16, 2015


The information in this book has encouraged me to take my already healthy lifestyle to a new level! Prevention of the development of cancer is emphasized throughout the highly educational chapters in The Cancer Solution. I felt hopeful as I read about the numerous measures I can take on my own to do my part to prevent this well-defined disease, the treatments most commonly used, the research that it ongoing, and the complimentary ways to fight this vicious opponent. The approach of the author is direct. The information provided about the unpleasant realities are straightforward. The problems with our traditional treatments are presented, along with hopeful trends for improved research and treatment approaches are highlighted. Interpersonal issues are also noted as are specific definitions of legal considerations. The book is written for a more educated audience, but, fortunately, the author provides an easily understood conclusion at the end of each chapter. This is a read that can help anyone who is suffering from cancer or is the loved one of a person with cancer to navigate the path through this illness and will definitely inspire those who do not have this disease to take a more active role in the many ways they can work to prevent it. I learned a great deal reading The Cancer Solution and encourage others to read it for a thorough and understandable way to learn how to prevent and deal with cancer.


20)Changed my way of thinking about cancer.
By Citizen John, June 17,2015

There were three main things that I got out of this comprehensive book:
1) An easier way for me to understand what is cancer.
2) Potentially huge benefits of certain kinds of nutrition solutions.
3) The problems associated with end of life treatment.

I understood this author more than any other on the subject of cancer. He has the advantage of being a medical professional yet not an oncologist. His view is wide and meant for a large non-specialized audience. My impression is that this book will cause many people to change the way they make decisions regarding both cancer treatment and food.

The author's ambition to encourage decision-making on a larger scale, a policy level, is admirable. It gives me hope. I recommend this book


21)Much of the failure of the War on Cancer ─ and more importantly, much of the potential for finally winning it ─ has to do with the definition of cancer.
by Donna McBroom-Theriot in Book Reviews, Books, Non-Fiction, June 19, 2015

This thoroughly researched cancer handbook shows how much of the failure of the War on Cancer ─ and more importantly, much of the potential for finally winning it ─ has to do with the definition of cancer. This book is a wake-up call and a call to action for cancer patients, their loved ones and the general public.

Cancer is the cause of death for one in three of us in the United States and inevitably affects all of our lives.

Persons who are inquisitive about and actively involved in their own health care have better health outcomes. The Cancer Solution is readable for laypersons and contains technical details for health care professionals. It gives a broad overview of the different forms of cancer treatment and cancer research; provides technical details so that it can be used as a reference for questions about specific aspects of cancer; describes complementary cancer care; and encourages laypersons and professionals to become informed advocates for federal and private funding of research that focuses on preventing and treating the underlying causes of cancer.

The traditional focus on killing cancer cells puts the cart before the horse and explains why the conventional treatment of different forms of cancer has not won the War on Cancer. In fact, decades of potential progress against cancer have been lost.

The Cancer Solution offers science-based guidance and encouragement that will enable patients, their families, and health care professionals to become informed advocates for funding cutting edge cancer research and care.

22) Whether you are a physician, a caregiver or a person with cancer, this handbook is invaluable.
Reviewed for the National Association of Baby Boomer Women by Anne Holmes, June 18, 2015

Author Westman, a psychiatrist by training, tells us right away that it was his wife Nancy’s 34 years of life with cancer, and her ultimate death that compelled him to learn all that he could about current day cancer research and treatment. He quickly points out that cancer inevitably affects all our lives, as one in three will die of it. And the rest of us will know someone – or several someones – who succumb.

As I pause to consider how to best review this book, my mind turns to a fictional doctor I recently watched deal with her own cancer, Dr. Lillian DePaul, from the Showtime series, Masters of Sex. Why did I think of her? Because through watching her treatment, I learned that while we have clearly not yet won the War on Cancer, we are all better off when dealing with the disease today. Back in the early 1960s, there were no cures, and even the palliative care was barbaric.
 
Even today, once cancer is diagnosed, there are really only three ways to treat it: surgery, radiation, and chemotherapy. But a growing body of evidence shows that patients who are actively involved in their health care have better outcomes, and endure lower costs. Which is why today, many public and private health care organizations are educating people about their conditions, and more actively involving them in healthcare decisions.

And, this is also why we now hear about “alternative,” “complementary” and  “integrative” treatments. Just for clarity, “alternative,” refers to a non-mainstream approach to dealing with health issues. “Complementary” refers to using a non-mainstream approach together with conventional medicine. And “integrative” healthcare providers are willing to integrate these alternative and complementary treatments — such as guided imagery, yoga, acA Valuable Guidebook for Cancer Victims and Their Families

23)Does Cancer have to be a Death Sentence?
By Maxine E. Thompson, July 6, 2015

Jack C. Westman, M.D., M.S., relates the story of how his late wife, Nancy, beat breast cancer in 1978, which re-occurred 26 years later and came back aggressively. In the final bout in 2012, she lost her battle. I loved how Dr. Westman, a medical professional, spoke on a human level. "I have the nagging feeling that, if I had known in 2012 about the complementary therapies for conventional cancer treatment described in Chapter Eleven, Nancy would be alive today."

I commend Dr. Wesman's transparency in sharing his and his late wife’s personal journey. I could relate to his doubts about the current state of cancer treatment. I could feel Dr. Westman’s hindsight and regret in not using some of the alternative methods mentioned in the book. I have some of the same regrets. Could our loved ones have survived with some of the natural methods that kill cancer cells?

Having lost a family member to lung cancer in 2008, I really appreciate this book. When one goes through hospice in the last stages of cancer, it is a life changing experience you never forget. Personally, I felt helpless and powerless as I watched my loved one struggle for just the slightest breath, or spit up a waste paper basket full of blood. Only someone who has gone through hospice with a loved one understands the twilight zone you find yourself in between that dichotomy of life and death. You feel like you are a victim of whatever life hands you as you turn that final corner with your loved one. I can only imagine how my dying sister, who ironically was also named Nancy, felt, but surprisingly, she said she was at peace.

I wish I had had a book like this when I walked that journey. I wish my sister had had the book. It gives patients a ray of hope. Not only does it help people once they are diagnosed with cancer, it shows them ways to control cancer in terms of how to handle their nutrition, their life style changes, and diet. The dreaded disease doesn’t necessarily have to become a death sentence.

This book looks at alternative ways to deal with cancer supplemented with the traditional methods of chemotherapy, surgery and radiation. In Chapter 11, Dr. Westman suggests ways to build your immune system by not having as much sugar in your diet. He also gives suggestions as to how to build the immune system so that it can detect and attack cancer cells before they get out of control. He offers different vitamins, herbs, vegetables, and fruits that have antioxidants.

This book will help families and patients battling any form of the deadly disease. Cancer is a family disease because all the members in the family are affected by it. A book such as this will empower a patient to take charge of their lives, to live as fully as possible under the circumstances, and to hopefully defeat the disease. It will also help family members as caregivers to be more proactive.

I highly recommend this book for the medical profession and oncologists. Cancer treatment and research needs an overhauling and this book addresses many of these issues.

24) Excellent resource when fighting or dealing with cancer
By Donna McBroom-Theriot "My Life. One Story at a Time", June 19, 2015

The cover of this book isn't fancy. It doesn't have to be. This is one of those times when you do not choose a book by its cover. The information is what is important and as I read each page in this book, my eyes were opened wider and wider.

You see, I have friends with cancer, and I have two rare blood disorders. My oncologist explained it to me as a double-edged sword. I may develop leukemia if untreated or I may develop leukemia if treated. I often wondered what my decision would be if I were faced with the dilemma of prolonging my life for any amount of time with chemotherapy or choosing not to do chemo and just enjoy the time I had left. I didn't realize that it might one day become a reality. At that point, when you are sitting across from your doctor, receiving devastating news, all of your previous conceived notions take flight and you are suddenly forced into a state of shock and making decisions based on panic and not education. I didn't want to be that person and for that reason alone, I am glad this book came through my email when it did.

Dr. Westman suffered through cancer alongside his wife, and he learned a lot along the journey that would last more than twenty years. He then sat down to write a practical, easy to understand book to help others through their journey. He discusses the health care system and enlightens the reader on the tug of war between doctors, hospitals, patients, pharmaceuticals, and on and how each one of us has failed ourselves in the battle of cancer. There is no ONE person or entity to blame. It is a culmination of all put together. There is a wonderful Table of Contents for use once you've read the book.

Dr. Westman has compiled a book of research that will aid you in making the correct decision for you or a loved one with cancer. I highly recommend this book to everyone, whether or not you or a loved one has experienced cancer. I think the information transcends illnesses.

25) Changed my way of thinking about cancer
By AifaTOP 500 REVIEWER, June 17, 2015

There were three main things that I got out of this comprehensive book:
1) An easier way for me to understand what is cancer.
2) Potentially huge benefits of certain kinds of nutrition solutions.
3) The problems associated with end of life treatment.

I understood this author more than any other on the subject of cancer. He has the advantage of being a medical professional yet not an oncologist. His view is wide and meant for a large non-specialized audience. My impression is that this book will cause many people to change the way they make decisions regarding both cancer treatment and food.

The author's ambition to encourage decision-making on a larger scale, a policy level, is admirable. It gives me hope.

26) Perfect Book For All!
By B.K. Walker, Author of the Wolves of Shadow Falls Series "BK Walker", May 29, 2015

When my Mom was first diagnosed with Cancer, my family was lucky, because with me being a nurse, they had my knowledge to guide them through this torturous time and explain things to them on a deeper level. Most families don't have someone in the healthcare field in their family to help them understand terminology, procedures, and treatments on a level so that they understand what is happening.

The Cancer Solution is a fantastic book that makes it easy for any person, whether a lay person or a professional to understand, and in my case, even sometimes remember, what is to happen, what needs to be done, what to expect, and how to support a Cancer patient period.

Dr. Westman lays it out very clearly, and in simple terms that you can't NOT understand. I love how he broke this book down, and one of my favorite parts was when he talked about "Advanced Directives" and "Life Panels". This is something we didn't do in the beginning, and even as a nurse, when it comes to your own family, you sort of lose all of your professionalism when it comes to making decisions. It is hard to think about your loved one dying, and what might happen near the end, but Dr. Westman explains it in such a way that it leaves you wanting to be sure a plan is in place.

I wished I had this book when my Mom was first diagnosed, because I loved the chapter on "Drawing from your body's natural resources", which I would have loved to try with my mother and suggest to her Oncologist and Neurosurgeon.

Dr. Westman also breaks down what you can do as a caregiver, family member, and how a patient can get to know their own body. I think this is something every person should know, and not be afraid to take control of your own body and what is done to it. "Nobody knows your body better than you."

All in all, I would highly recommend this book to anyone that either has Cancer, or a family member or friend with Cancer, because it will help you understand, accept, and create a plan of action that will be beneficial to all of you, not just the person with the diagnosis.

27) Fantastic book! Grab your copy today!
By J. Weaver, May 15, 2015

The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge Of Your Life With Cancer by Jack C. Westman, M.D., M.S. is an outstanding resource and book on cancer for both patients and health care professionals. The Cancer Solution empowers and informs patients and their families to take control of their lives and to know what may lie ahead, be prepared and INFORMED. Information is POWER and there is POWER in ACTION.

Cancer is the ugly “C” word no one wants to talk about and unfortunately many among us know less. Dr. Westman takes the “C” word and not only puts it under attack but enlightens the reader and armors the patient with INFORMATION from EXPERIENCE and RESEARCH.

“It appears that cancer is connected with our inflammatory response to injury to cells. If you smoke, you damage your lung cells…When cancer cells form, it’s like your body is trying to respond to damaged cells but can’t control the repair process.” The author writes, “Age and exposure to toxins in the environment are the greatest causes of cancer.”

The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge Of  Your Life With Cancer is hands-down the most rewarding, researched and heartfelt book I have ever read about the subject. I personally feel more informed and empowered. Thank you Dr. Westman for writing what should be one of the most important books YOU could read in your lifetime. Information is POWER and there is POWER in ACTION and this book has BOTH.

28) Cancer...the dreaded disease and what's being done to cure and treat it, and will it be defeated?
By J. Guildon, April 23, 2015

If you haven't been a victim of cancer, you likely will if you live long enough. Even if you are among the precious few who don't get cancer in any of its nearly 200 forms someone in your family or otherwise very close to you will. The whole subject of cancer is so huge, involved, complicated, and in many cases scary, devastating and even fatal that it is mind-boggling for anyone to get any consistent answers to their questions particularly if they are told they "have It".
There is such a plethora of information available to understand cancer and all that dreaded word entails that any help in sorting through it all is an impossible task.

Fortunately, this is an excellent book that should be read, or at least perused, by everyone regardless of where they now stand in connection of this disease. It gives just enough information that any ordinary person can understand where we are in the diagnosing, treatment, research, the medical profession, the drug industry, surgical options, expectations of cures, end of life preparations, value of hope and faith, dealing with stress, chances of long time survival, personal approaches to prevention, extending life and living with cancer, life or death panels, enviromental impacts, or just about any question or concern you might have.

Don't let the complexity deter you from reading this book. It is written very clearly and is understandable without any medical knowledge being required. It is also organized so that parts of it can be "skimmed" if desired. At the back of the book are extensive references that refer to each chapter and would give the reader much more information on any subject mentioned.
This is a book that once read, one will surely want to keep as a reference for any questions they might have in the future.

If you haven't heard of and understand NEOPLASIA, this book will explain what causes cancer.

29) Concise overview and includes great nutritional advice
By Susan Schenck TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE, April 22, 2015

This book is a real labor of love to help people, inspired by the author's having lost his wife to cancer. Says Dr. Westman: "I have the nagging feeling that, if I had known in 2011 about the complementary therapies for conventional cancer treatment described in Chapter 11, Nancy would be living today."

The book opens with conventional cancer treatment, and why the alleged "war on cancer" failed, and all the toxicity from conventional treatment and even the diagnostic procedures (such as mammograms and MRIs, which can actually CAUSE cancer!) It's all just a big money machine (and finding the "cure" was never intended in my observation).

In this book you will also learn the types of cancer, the stages of cancer, the history of cancer, and the culture of cancer. You will also learn about the various theories of what causes cancer.

I found most interesting the suppressed information of Otto Warburg, who proved that cancer depends on an acidic environment, as well as glucose. Truly a diet rich in greens (alkaline) and very very low in carbs (ketogenic) is the route I would surely take if I got the disease that has killed most my family. Warburg concluded: "... the primary cause of cancer is the replacement of the respiration of oxygen in normal body cells by a fermentation of sugar."

The author states: "It turns out that dramatically reducing the blood glucose that cancer cells so heavily rely upon both starved them and forces the body to generate new fuels from fat called ketones--a fuel source that cancer cells are unable to use ..." So, cut the carbs and starve the cancer cells! How simple is that? Cancer is NOT the body's deficiency of chemo chemicals!

This book is a great overview for those facing which direction to go with cancer treatment. I also like how each chapter is summarized at the end, so you don't have to read everything. Since it is obvious that the drug companies lost their "war on cancer" (though gained enormously in profits), I would go with the nutritional route.

30) Comprehensive and Understandable Guide
By Mallory Heart Revies "Fair and authentic reviews", April 20, 2015

A comprehensive and eminently readable handbook and guide to an essential subject, The Cancer Solution by Jack C. Westman, M.D., M.S., a psychiatrist, is designed for both laypersons dealing with cancer personally or in loved ones and health care professionals. Emphasized are various newer possibilities for treatment, including nutrition, immunotherapy, and complementary care. The issues and concerns of caregivers are also addressed. I think this is a highly useful guide.


31) Dr. Westman’s Book The Cancer Solution Is Fantastic!
By J. Weaver, May 15, 2015

Book reviewer J. Weaver describes The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge of Your Life with Cancer by Jack C. Westman, M.D., M.S. as an outstanding resource on cancer for both patients and health care professionals. It empowers and informs patients and their families to take control of their lives and to know what may lie ahead, be prepared and informed.

Cancer is the ugly “C” word no one wants to talk about and unfortunately many among us know less about. Dr. Westman takes the “C” word and not only puts it under attack but enlightens the reader and armors the patient with information from experience and research.

“It appears that cancer is connected with our inflammatory response to injury to cells. If you smoke, you damage your lung cells…When cancer cells form, it’s like your body is trying to respond to damaged cells but can’t control the repair process.” The author writes, “Age and exposure to toxins in the environment are the greatest causes of cancer.”

The Cancer Solution: Taking Charge of Your Life with Cancer is hands-down the most rewarding, researched and heartfelt book I have ever read about the subject. I personally feel more informed and empowered. Thank you Dr. Westman for writing what should be one of the most important books YOU could read in your lifetime. Information is POWER and there is POWER in ACTION and this book has BOTH.


32) Does Cancer have to be a Death Sentence?
By Maxine E. Thompson, July 6, 2015

Jack C. Westman, M.D., M.S., relates the story of how his late wife, Nancy, beat breast cancer in 1978, which re-occurred 26 years later and came back with an aggression. In the final bout, in 2011, she lost her battle. I loved how Dr. Westman, a medical professional, spoke on a human level. "I have the nagging feeling that, if I had known in 2011 about the complementary therapies for conventional cancer treatment described in Chapter Eleven, Nancy would be alive today."

I commend Dr. Westman's transparency in sharing his and his late wife’s personal journey. I could relate to his doubts about the current state of cancer treatment. I could feel Dr. Westman’s hindsight and regret in not using some of the alternative methods mentioned in the book. I have some of the same regrets. Could our loved ones have survived with some of the natural methods that kill cancer cells?

Having lost a family member to lung cancer in 2008, I really appreciate this book. When one goes through hospice in the last stages of cancer, it is a life changing experience you never forget. Personally, I felt helpless and powerless as I watched my loved one struggle for just the slightest breath, or spit up a waste paper basket full of blood. Only someone who has gone through hospice with a loved one understands the twilight zone you find yourself in between that dichotomy of life and death. You feel like you are a victim of whatever life hands you as you turn that final corner with your loved one. I can only imagine how my dying sister, who ironically was also named Nancy, felt, but surprisingly, she said she was at peace.

I wish I had had a book like this when I walked that journey. I wish my sister had had the book. It gives patients a ray of hope. Not only does it help people once they are diagnosed with cancer, it shows them ways to control cancer in terms of how to handle their nutrition, their life style changes, and diet. The dreaded disease doesn’t necessarily have to become a death sentence.

This book looks at alternative ways to deal with cancer supplemented with the traditional methods of chemotherapy, surgery and radiation. In Chapter 11, Dr. Westman suggests ways to build your immune system by not having as much sugar in your diet. He also gives suggestions as to how to build the immune system so that it can detect and attack cancer cells before they get out of control. He offers different vitamins, herbs, vegetables, and fruits that have antioxidants.

This book will help families and patients battling any form of the deadly disease. Cancer is a family disease because all the members in the family are affected by it. A book such as this will empower a patient to take charge of their lives, to live as fully as possible under the circumstances, and to hopefully defeat the disease. It will also help family members as caregivers to be more proactive.

I highly recommend this book for the medical profession and oncologists. Cancer treatment and research needs an overhauling and this book addresses many of these issues.


33) A Must Read if You or Anyone You Know is Diagnosed with Cancer!
By Angie Santangeloon, July 14, 2015


This book is an excellent resource for anyone affected by cancer. It is helpful in explaining what cancer is, in a easy to understand medically accurate way. This then builds the basis to understand what you need to know when you are considering treatment options and daily living options. This is also a helpful historical guide to the evolution of cancer treatments. The historical context helps to understand how to analyze your treatment options. Evidence is constantly building showing how we can strengthen our immune system preventing and controlling cancer in our own bodies. This book helps to provide hope and show how we can have control in a situation where we are lead to believe we have no control. This book is a practical guide to get you started on the journey to being empowered to take control of your our medical condition.







 

 
 

 
 

.